- Posted June 20, 2018 -
Nostalgia Drag Racing League teams rolled into Beech Bend Raceway Park for the second installment in the Competition Products Championship Series this weekend. The temperatures were brutally hot keeping track medics busy running back and forth throughout the event but the racers endured and got the race completed.

Quick Fuel Technology PRO GAS hit the track first with 61 cars ready to go with the top four qualifiers running dead on zero. Joe Janes took the top spot followed by Gary Harris, Billy Stochl, Shawn Grant, and James Hayes. Stochl was the highest qualifying member receiving the Dishon Transmission Service low qualifier bonus (members only). Semi Final pairings had Kenny Robinson downing Bob Perkins to meet John Treesh who advanced over Nick Dishon. The final was all Treesh as Robinson had mechanical issues off the line.

PRO Comp staged up with 37 cars ready to fight to get to the final round on Saturday. Gary Leever was the number one qualifier earning the Dishon Transmission low qualifier bonus followed by Brett Edwards, Davin Reckow, Pat Lamont, and Chuck Willey. Semi Final pairings found Lamont advancing over Shane Bowman to meet Stan Hunter who rode the bye into the final. Hunter left first but got loose allowing Lamont to drive by and take the win.

Phenix Industries PRO 7.5 had drivers from all over the nation show up and it took Florida native Niles Rubar two passes to get it right running dead on zero to earn the bye into first round Saturday. He was followed by Boom Boom Leonard who earned the Stanke Motorsports low qualifier bonus (members only), Kerry Millet, Jarrod Bradshaw, and Larry Aldrich. Semi final pairings found Kelly Key cutting the tree down on Leonard to advance to the final with Dan Mcwhirter who rode the bye into the final. The final was all Key as she left first and drug Mcwhirter to the stripe taking her first Reunion win.

Ross Racing Engines PRO 7.0 rolled out last and qualifying was tight. Lawton Ferreira led the field into eliminations running dead on one followed by Gordon Horn, Sue Christopherson, Don Nave, and Robbie Freels. Horns efforts also earned him the Stanke Motorsports low qualifier bonus. 

Semi final pairings found Freels dropping the tree on Dick Schmids injected dragster to meet up with Billy Smith who advanced on the bye. The final was all Freels as he left first and led Smith to the stripe to take the win. PRO 7.0 racer Jeffrey Sanborn received the certificate from DRE for best losing package of first round.

The next stop for the Competition Products-NDRL Championship points series will be Summit Motorsports Park on July 13-15 for the Lingenfelter Performance Blue Suede Cruise.

Thanks to our sponsors…Competition Products, ScottRods Custom HotRods & Fiberglass, Quick Fuel Technology, Freedom Racing Engines, ET Genie, Renegade Racing Fuels & Lubricants, Hot Heads Research, Phenix Industries, Ross Racing Engines, Hagerty Classic Cars, M&E Pump, Powermaster, Xs Power, Sexton Wilbert Corporation, AACO Golf Carts and Parts, Race Star Wheels, DJ Safety, Howards Cams, Deist Safety, Moser Engineering, Saldana Racing Products, Chuck-A-Burger Drive-In Restaurant, Stanke Motorsports, Dishon Transmission Service, Biemers BBQ, Hoosier Gear, Team Spirit Trailers, Callies Performance Products, and Bam Lifters

- Go To News Archives - - Back To Home -